Scholastic Art Awards 2018

Exhibition Dates:

February 2 – March 10, 2018
Warner and Jerome J. Crowley Community Galleries
(Museum hours: Wednesday – Sunday, noon – 5:00 p.m.)

Meet Me in the Gallery Opening Reception: Friday, February 2, 2018 5:30 – 9:00 p.m. | Warner Gallery

Awards Ceremony: Sunday, February 4, 2018
Century Center | Convention Hall A
1:30 p.m.: Junior High  |  2:30 p.m.: Senior High

For more than 90 years, The Scholastic Art & Writing Award program has sought to encourage, foster, and reward creativity in our nation’s classrooms and to confer recognition on emerging talent. Our region, which covers 18 counties, has participated for decades, beginning in the Tea Room of the former Robertson’s Department Store in downtown South Bend. L.S. Ayres hosted the exhibition until the South Bend Museum of Art became involved.

The South Bend Museum of Art is now the affiliate for the Scholastic Art Awards’ Northwest Indiana and Southwest Lower Michigan Region. This region includes the following counties: INDIANA counties of Benton, Cass, Elkhart, Fulton, Jasper, Kosciusko, Lake, LaPorte, Marshall, Newton, Porter, Pulaski, St. Joseph, Stark, White; and MICHIGAN counties of Berrien, Cass and St. Joseph.

The Scholastic Art Awards represents the most comprehensive national annual assessment of the creative spirit among American teens. Three core values have not changed since The Awards inception: freedom of expression, a blind adjudication process, and work criteria based on originality, technical proficiency, and emergence of personal voice. Students in seventh through twelfth grade submit digital images of their work, which is juried by more than 50 jurors solicited from the local arts and education community. A process of “blind adjudication” is used, whereby judging is determined on a merit basis with only the art object under review, without any knowledge as to student identity (gender, race, background, etc.). Jurors are instructed to select artwork that excels in 1) Originality, 2) Technical Skill, and 3) Emergence of a personal vision or voice.

Regional awards are given in several categories:

• Gold Key: The highest level of achievement on the regional level.
Approximately 5 – 7% of all regional submissions are recognized with Gold Key Awards and all are considered for national-level recognition.

• Silver Key: Approximately 7 – 10% of all regional submissions are recognized with Silver Key Awards.

• Honorable Mention: This Award recognizes students with artistic potential. Approximately 10 – 15% of all regional submissions receive Honorable Mention Awards.

• American Vision & Voice Nominees: Five works are selected out of all Gold Key works (across categories) as the “Best of Show” for each region.

Digital images of all of our GOLD KEY Awards are sent on to National Adjudication in New York City. Award recipients at the national level are invited to participate in the Awards Ceremony held in New York City at Carnegie Hall, have their work shown in noted galleries, attend workshops, be considered for scholarships, and have their names included in the New York Times article covering the Scholastic Art Awards.

The SAA competition has strong positive impact in our community, showcasing the vast talent in our region, not only the talent of the students, but of the teachers and mentors who work with them to assure their excellence. Many young artists who have gone on to highly productive careers in the arts have received their first encouragement and recognition through the SAA program, which bolstered their confidence to pursue their dreams.

SAA is also the most heavily attended exhibition in the SBMA annual schedule (about 5000 visitors annually) and is intrinsically connected to our mission of supporting arts education for youth. There is not a single arts program for high school and middle school students which has the broad reach or lifelong educational impact of the Scholastic Art Awards and SBMA is committed to working with the local SAA board to keep it alive and vibrant in our region.

Presented by

Scholastic Art AwardsThe NW Indiana & Lower SW Michigan Region of the Alliance for Young Artists & Writers
South Bend Museum of Art and Friends of Scholastic Art Awards

Congratulations to the 2018 Scholastic Art Award Recipients!

Click here for a list (pdf) of the individual awards.

Learn more about the Scholastic Art Awards!

Support the Scholastic Art Awards!

Donate today!

Scholastic Art Awards: South Bend Museum of Art
2017-18 Donors as of January 29, 2018:

Foundations & Major Contributors
Stanley A. and Flora P. Clark Memorial Community Trust Foundation
Jack & Yumiko Champaigne
South Bend Art Center Foundation
Walmart, Goshen, IN
Zilky Charitable Trust

Organizations, Corporations & Award Sponsors
Jim & Betsy Cooke
Docent Group of the South Bend Museum of Art and the Snite Museum of Art
Explore Media
Gurley Leep Automotive Family
Indiana Women’s Caucus for Art
Northern Indiana Artists
Northern Indiana Pastel Society
St. Joe Valley Watercolor Society
South Bend Hoosier Art Patrons

Visual Voices and Portfolio Award Sponsor
Department of Art, Art History and Design, University of Notre Dame

Scholarship Sponsor
Ernestine M. Raclin School of the Arts, Indiana University South Bend

In-Kind Sponsor
Ivy Tech Community College North Central

Contributions in Memory of June H. Edwards
Art League
Suzanne Cole
Phoebe Lykowski
Claudia Maslowski
Dr. & Mrs. J.R. Reineke
Mr. & Mrs. Richard Q. Stifel
Mr. & Mrs. Laurence Taylor
Susan Visser

Contributions in Honor of Lynda & Chuck Simon
Natalie & Paul Klein

Mr. & Mrs. John Anella
Dr. Kay L. Antonelli & Mr. Charles Loeser
Sidney & Don Arenz
Mr. & Mrs. Edward Beatty
Mr. & Mrs. William Becker
Patricia Bellaire
Lynn Blue
Dayle Brown & David Piser
John & Mary Ann Butkovich
Mary Jane Buzolich
Judith Chase
Rabbi Karen Companez & Howard Steinberger
Alice Crowley
Ron DeWinter
Sharon Donlon
Lucy & Kent Emery
Anne Feferman
Dr. & Mrs. Stephen Fredman
Betsy Fulnecky
Helen Geglio
Leslie Gitlin
Mr. & Mrs. Steven Goldberg
Steven A. Goldberg
Karen Jacob & David Cortright
Mary H. Jones
Jean Ketcham
Douglas & Marjorie Kinsey
Drs. William & Julia Knight
Ann Knoll
Brendan Kogiones
Charles F. Lehman
Kay & Bruce Marshall
Raymond McLein
Mr. & Mrs. Patrick McManus
William Randall Merryfield
Rose Marie Merz
Dr. & Mrs. Chris Norborg
Scott Peacock
Mr. & Mrs. Timothy Phelan
Linda Sue Phillips
Monica Radecki
Julia Roesler & Fred Utroske
Mr. & Mrs. Charles Rosenberg
Mr. & Mrs. Doug Sakaguchi
Mr. & Mrs. L. Brown Sanders
Dr. & Mrs. William Sarnat
Gail Schroeder
Barry Shein & Cari Groman Shein
Susan Shields
Lynda B. & Charles S. Simon
Rod Spear
Jackie Stephens
Mr. & Mrs. Ed Swoveland
Ann Tideman
Brad & Katie Toothaker
Mr. & Mrs. Michael Vogel
Mr. & Mrs. Erik Waelchli
Mr. & Mrs. Timothy Welsh
Thomas Werge
Craig & Cyndy Wilson
Mark & Dawn Wobbe
Doreen Zisla
Anonymous Donors

The Scholastic Art & Writing Awards is generously supported by Scholastic Inc., the Maurice R. Robinson Fund, The New York Times, the Institute for Museum and Library Services, the President’s Committee on the Arts and the Humanities, Command Web Offset Co., the AMD Foundation, Blick Art Materials, the National Endowment for the Arts, 3D Systems, New York Life, Bloomberg L.P., Ovation,, the Jacques and Natasha Gelman Trust, the Bernstein Family Foundation, Duck Tape®, the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs, and contributions from numerous other individual, foundation, and corporate funders.

Share It


You cannot copy content of this page